Offshore Shipping Online

A publication for the offshore shipping industry published by Clarkson Research

  • Offshore Intelligence Monthly
  • Menu

    Interior Department honours best in the industry

    News // May 9, 2003
    US Assistant Secretary of the Interior for Land and Minerals Management Rebecca Watson and Director of the Interior's Minerals Management Service R.M. "Johnnie" Burton paid tribute to the best in the oil and natural gas and solid minerals industry todayduring the Minerals Management Service Industry Awards Program in Houston, Texas.

    "We must balance the critical search for energy and mineral resources with the protection of the environment," Watson said. "This awards program recognizes the companies that not only meet our tough environmental regulations but exceed them. They set thestandards for the future and help preserve and enhance the quality of life in meeting the nation's energy needs."

    The Corporate Leadership Award (CORLA) is given to individuals that have worked closely with MMS to improve revenue collection and processes for offshore development. The International Leadership Award is given to individuals that promote offshore safetyand provide invaluable assistance to MMS on safety and pollution prevention issues. The Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE) recognizes outstanding safety and pollution prevention achievement by offshore oil and gas operators and contractors.

    "We are pleased to recognize these companies and individuals for their professionalism, cooperation, and support for the MMS offshore and minerals revenue programs," said Burton. "They are excellent corporate citizens, and their dedication has been extremely beneficial for the MMS in its management of revenue collection and offshore development."

    The Minerals Revenues Stewardship Award recognizes companies that demonstrate exceptional compliance with minerals revenues laws and federal financial requirements. The Safe Operations and Accurate Reporting (SOAR) is presented to the best of the best inindustry that have demonstrated the highest commitment to safety, stewardship and resource management. This award is an honor given to an outstanding company for both offshore operating performance and fiscal responsibility.

    The 2002 SAFE Award winners are as follows: Exxon Mobil Corporation, Houston, Texas; Hunt Petroleum (AEC) Inc, Houston, Texas; ENSCO Offshore Company, Dallas, Texas; Island Operating Company, Houston, Texas.

    The 2002 Mineral Revenues Stewardship Award winners are as follows: Conoco Inc., Houston, Texas; Red Willow Production Company, Durango, Mont; Kennecott Energy Company, Gillette, Mont.

    The 2002 SOAR Award winners are as follows: Dominion Exploration & Production Inc., Houston, Texas.

    The 2002 CORLA winners are: Steve Adamcik, El Paso Pipeline Group, Houston, Texas; Mike Bell and Terry James, Unocal Deepwater US, Sugarland, Texas; Steve Brooks, Exxon Mobil Corporation, Houston, Texas; Mark Davis and Steven Whiteside, Shell Offshore Inc, Houston, Texas; David T Deal, American Petroleum Institute, Washington, DC; Mike Faulise and Steve Smetana, Shell E&P Company, Houston, Texas; Donna M Hurley, Exxon Mobil Production Company, Houston, Texas; Craig Landry, Ocean Energy Inc, Houston, Texas; Gerald (Gerry) Macey, EnCana Corporation, Houston, Texas; Mark Schindler, Lynx Enterprises Inc; Ron McCaslin and Jeanne Smith, Devon Energy Corporation, Houston, Texas; Tammy Naron, Apache Corporation, Houston, Texas; Wanda June Parker, WJP Enterprises, Plano, Texas;Joseph Peschier, Island Operating Company Inc, Houston, Texas; James P Ray, PhD, Shell Global Solutions (US) Inc, Houston, Texas; Brian Russo, Affiliated Computer Services, Inc; Alexander Sas-Jaworsky II, SAS Industries, Katy, Texas; Larry Smith, Oil States Industries Inc, Houston, Texas; Maralene Spawn, Burlington Resources Oil and Gas Company LP, Houston, Texas.

    MMS recognized the winners of the 2002 MMS International Leadership award for promoting offshore safety: Gunnar Berge, Magne Ognedal, Odd Bjerre Finestad, Norwegian Petroleum Directorate, Norway; Taf Powell, UK Health and Safety Executive, United Kingdom.

    More articles from this category

    More news